yannick guédon
fr | en
E S P A _
  • Claire Bergerault
  • Geoffroy Dudouit
  • Jean Fürst
  • Yannick Guédon
  • Géraldine Keller
  • Aurélie Maisonneuve
  • Jean-Baptiste Veyret-Logerias
  • -
  • Yannick Guédon
  • voices
  • -
  • composition

E S P A _ is a piece for 7 performers and singers, in which sound and movement play with the architectural and acoustic specificities of the location.

During the residencies, I would like to work on the Doppler effect, the one we can hear when the sound of the siren of an ambulance is modified by the moving of this ambulance. My idea is to confront a sound performed by a static singer to similar sounds performed by moving singers. This Doppler effect is the one used by radar in order to define the position of a plane. E S P A _ will be premiered in a radome, a shelter that prevent people to see the radar's direction. This piece will then be performed in other singular spaces and even theaters, but I would like this first location -the radome- to infuse the way we will adapt the piece each time for a new location.

To make possible the comparison of similar sounds, imitation and relays will prevail. But, the similar being not necessarily the same, we will question how these processes of imitation and relay reveal the differences between each vocal timbre; and how these differences can motivate a continuous imitation. Relays will be enriched by minute and slow mutations of vocal timbres which will nourish subtly the transformation of the whole. The observation of the multiple facets of a single sound will lead to appreciate the accuracy and the quality of the timbre of those seven voices, and to listen to the connection between them.

Performers will perform musical and choreographic scores, very precise, but enough flexible to interfere and reveal each place in the way it sounds. As a consequence, their movements and paths will induce the investigation of the notions of distance, convergence, closeness, presence and absence, the sounds of the performers becoming seven distinguishable space markers.

> read the detailed presentation

production | ensemble thymes
with the kind support of
the town of Montpellier and the Conseil Régional Occitanie

co-productions / residencies
Athénor, National Center for Musical Creation, Saint-Nazaire
GMEA - National Center for Musical Creation, Albi

le PAD, Angers / invitation by Cie Nathalie Béasse
Césaré - National Center for Musical Creation, Reims
L’Escaut, coopérative d’architectes, Bruxelles (be)
La Ménagerie de Verre, Paris - in the frame of StudioLab
Centre National de la Danse, Pantin

festival Instants Fertiles, Athénor, National Center for Musical Creation, Saint-Nazaire - 23th and 24th november 2018
festival Ars Musica, Bruxelles (be) - 2020